Logo_gd_edited.png

a project of the heart by

Join us for a little insight into this social enterprise, a project with masifunde, in which we give young people self-confidence in their manual skills through training and give them a basis for their further development:

 

Many thanks to Mark Weber for accompanying me with your camera for 5 days in South Africa and to all the wonderful people in Walmer who make it all possible.

How everything started:

Kopie von IMG_6021_edited.jpg

 

izandla zethu means our hands in the isiXhosa language.

Our hands are made to move and create.

 

This thought inspired me to create this project, After a visit to the masifunde | CHANGEMAKER ACADEMY in Walmer Township Port Elizabeth In 2018 I was so impressed by the work with children and young people in the township that I developed a vision that I wanted to implement right here and with these people:

To pass on the knowledge, skills and experience acquired over many years to these young people so that they have a basis on which they can earn money by working with their own hands.

The first Workshop:

Workshop

Our team and how we work

"First, I wanted to find out in a jewellery course for interested young people, how much interest and talent there was among the young people . . . and was completely surprised by the sudden 'drive' our idea got. So in just a few weeks, we set up a small team, found rooms together with masifunde and started making jewels out of locally available materials. Almost at the same time, we built an onlineshop in which we offer the handmade products.

 

As the main material we use corrugated iron, which residents in South Africa's townships often use to build their huts. We shape and work with the corrugated iron, which basically symbolizes the poverty in these places and turn it into wonderful pieces of jewellery.

As an independent team, our trainees are now crafting necklaces, earrings, bracelets and key rings from these very special materials, under the guidance of Phelelani, our trainer.

 

The team packs these handmade companions very creatively and sends each package with a personal greeting on their journey to the customers ... ♡

The Material:

Wellblech

 

We use corrugated iron as the central basic material, which the residents of South Africa's townships often use to build their huts. We shape and process the old corrugated iron, which basically symbolizes the poverty in these places, and transform it into beautiful pieces of jewelry.

The Trainee Program:

 

training_edited.jpg

 

 

Our trainees lovingly handcraft necklaces, earrings, bracelets and key rings from these very special materials as an independent team under the guidance of Phelelani, our trainer.

In a 6-month training course, the young people learn all the process steps from planning and selecting the materials and tools to making the blanks and assembling the individual parts into a piece of jewellery.

 

The team wraps and packs these handmade companions very creatively and sends each package on its way to the customer with a personal greeting.

Our Development:

IMG_7695.JPG

Approach

Beyond sustainable upcycling, this project sends out the message to young people to open their eyes to existing opportunities in their immediate environment, to use their own skills and to use them creatively instead of waiting for outside help from third parties.

izandla zethu - african jewellery is thus help for self-help. Your purchase of izandla zethu jewellery helps to combat youth unemployment in South Africa.

 . . . we have built up such a wonderful team in no time and together we have designed a collection that we offer for sale and which has already received a lot of positive response . . . I'm actually a bit proud of that."​ Michaela Römer

Financials

The volunteer team of the non-profit organization Masifunde Bildungsförderung handles all finances for izandla zethu in Germany and guarantees that all sales turnover flows 100% to South Africa into the project.

Currently the turnover from the sale of the jewellery goes directly to the participating young people. If the demand grows, we will provide the further profit to masifunde for the training of additional young people.

Partners

"izandla zethu african jewellery was set up by me as a private person - supported by masifunde LEARNER DEVELOPMENT - as an idea giver and sponsor I act purely as a volunteer in this pro bono project.

I am particularly pleased that my idea has had the incredible opportunity to become part of masifunde's proven holistic educational programs."

Michaela Römer

In South Africa, the project is embedded in masifunde's support programs for unemployed youth (here's more: blog post). The team of motivated social workers ensures that the young people are looked after comprehensively.

Long-term-vision

Crafts Education Academy

If our idea continues to be so well received, we dream today of building a training center where we also transfer other craft and entrepreneurial skills, providing interested youth a springboard into the world of work . . .But until then there is still a lot to do . . . : )

IMG_6962.jpg
 
No posts published in this language yet
Stay tuned...

Would you like to support this project with a donation?

Team.JPG
IMG_3781.jpg
IMG_3896.jpg
IMG_4918.jpg

This is how you so it:

Here           you will find the donation page of  Masifunde Bildungsförderung

Please Enter "IZANDLA ZETHU" in the title.

Logo_gd_edited.png

ein Herzensprojekt von

Kommt mit zu einem kleinen Einblick in dieses Sozialunternehmen, einem Projekt mit masifunde, in dem wir junge Menschen durch eine Ausbildung Selbstvertrauen in ihre handwerklichen Fähigkeiten vermitteln und eine Grundlage für ihre weitere Entwicklung mitgeben:

 

Vielen Dank an Mark Weber, dass Du mich 5 Tage in Südafrika mit Deiner Kamera begleitet hast und an all die wundervollen Menschen in Walmer, die das alles möglich machen.

Wie alles begann:

Kopie von IMG_6021_edited.jpg

 

izandla zethu heißt in der Sprache isiXhosa unsere Hände.

Unsere Hände sind dafür gemacht, Dinge zu bewegen und zu schaffen.

 

Dieser Gedanke hat mich dazu inspiriert, dieses Projekt ins Leben zu rufen, Nach einem Besuch in der masifunde | CHANGEMAKER ACADEMY in Walmer Township Port Elizabeth 2018 war ich so beeindruckt von der Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen im Township, dass ich eine Vision entwickelte, die ich genau hier und mit diesen Menschen umsetzen wollte:

Das in vielen Jahren erarbeitete Wissen, sowie Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen an diese jungen Menschen weitergeben, damit sie eine Grundlage erhalten, mit deren Hilfe sie durch die Arbeit mit Ihren eigenen Händen Geld verdienen können.

Der erste Workshop:

Workshop

"

Zunächst wollte ich in einem Schmuckkurs für interessierte Jugendliche herausfinden, wie viel Interesse und Talent bei den Jugendlichen besteht . . . und war völlig überrascht von dem plötzlichen 'Drive', den unsere Idee bekam. Also haben wir in wenigen Wochen ein kleines Team aufgebaut, Räumlichkeiten mit masifunde gemeinsam gefunden und damit begonnen, Schmuckstücke aus lokal verfügbaren Materialien anzufertigen.

Das Material:

Wellblech

 

Als zentrales Grundmaterial verwenden wir Wellblech, das die Bewohner in Südafrikas Townships häufig zum Bau ihrer Hütten verwenden. Wir formen und bearbeiten das alte Wellblech, welches im Grunde die Armut in diesen Orten symbolisiert und verwandeln es in wundervolle Schmuckstücke.

Das Trainee Programm:

 

training_edited.jpg

 

 

In liebevoller Handarbeit fertigen unsere Trainees unter Anleitung von Phelelani, unserer Trainerin, als eigenständiges Team Halsketten, Ohrringe, Armreife und Schlüsselanhänger aus diesen ganz besonderen Materialien.

In einem 6 Monate dauernden Training lernen die Jugendlichen alle Prozess-Schritte von der Planung über die Auswahl der Materialien und Werkzeugen, bis zur Herstellung der Rohlinge und des Zusammenfügens der einzelne Teile zu einem Schmuckstück.

 

Das Team verpackt diese handgefertigten Begleiter sehr kreativ und schickt jedes Päckchen mit einem persönlichen Gruß auf die Reise zu den Kunden.

Unsere Entwicklung:

IMG_7695.JPG

 

Über ein nachhaltiges Upcycling hinaus sendet dieses Projekt die Botschaft an die Jugendlichen, die Augen für vorhandene Möglichkeiten in ihrem direkten Umfeld zu öffnen, ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten wahrzunehmen und kreativ zu nutzen. izandla zethu ist dadurch Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe.

Im Anschluss zu dem Ausbildungsprogramm versuchen wir die Teilnehmer:innen für eine Ausbildung oder ein Studium zu vermitteln. Unsere aktuelle Ausbilderin Phelelani zum Beispiel war vor zwei Jahren auch eine der Teilnehmerinnen und wir sind sehr froh, dass sie diese herausfordernde Aufgabe übernommen hat.

Aktuelle Impressionen von April 2022:


 . . . wir haben in kürzester Zeit ein so wundervolles Team aufgebaut und eine Kollektion entworfen, die wir zum Verkauf anbieten und bereits viel positive Resonanz erfahren hat... Darauf bin ich tatsächlich ein wenig stolz."  Michaela Römer
 

Finanzen

Das ehrenamtliche Team des gemeinnützigen Vereins Masifunde Bildungsförderung wickelt alle Finanzen für izandla zethu in Deutschland ab und garantiert, dass alle Einnahmen durch den Verkauf zu 100% nach Südafrika in das Projekt fließen. 

Derzeit fließt der Erlös aus dem Verkauf des Schmucks direkt an die teilnehmenden Jugendlichen. Wenn die Nachfrage wächst, werden wir diesen Masifunde weiter für die Ausbildung weiterer Jugendlicher zur Verfügung stellen.

Partner

"izandla zethu african jewellery habe ich als Privatperson - unterstützt von masifunde LEARNER DEVELOPMENT - aufgebaut. Als Ideengeberin und Sponsorin handele ich in diesem pro-bono Projekt rein ehrenamtlich ,

Dass meine Idee die unglaubliche Chance bekommen hat, Teil der bewährten, ganzheitlichen Bildungsprogramme von masifunde zu werden, freut mich besonders."

Michaela Römer

In Südafrika ist das Projekt eingebettet in Masifunde's Förderprogramme für arbeitslose Jugendliche (hier erfahren Sie mehr: Blogbeitrag). Das Team aus motivierten Sozialarbeitern stellt sicher, dass die Jugendlichen umfassend betreut werden.

Unsere Vision

Crafts Education Academy

Sollte unsere Idee weiterhin so gut angenommen werden, träumen wir heute davon ein Ausbildungszentrum aufzubauen, in dem wir auch andere handwerkliche und unternehmerische Fähigkeiten vermitteln und so interessierten Jugendlichen ein Sprungbrett in die Arbeitswelt bieten . . .  Aber bis dahin ist noch sehr viel zu tun . . .  : )

IMG_6962.jpg
 

Du möchtest dieses Projekt mit einer Spende unterstützen?

Team.JPG
IMG_3781.jpg
IMG_3896.jpg
IMG_4918.jpg

So gehts:

Hier           kommst Du zur Spenden-Seite von Masifunde Bildungsförderung

Gib im Titel bitte "IZANDLA ZETHU" ein.